Life, and the shortness of it.

I am today thinking about life and how short it is. You were a kid wanting to grow up and be on your own. It seems to drag by and then you are older, then old. I am thinking, I wish I would have known the purpose of life way back then. I know I should not compare myself to others but, many of my church family have been born again Christians very young. We know all things work out to God’s purpose. It was His purpose for me to have the life I have had. I have been thinking that all I ever wanted was a family. A loving family, with a loving husband and children. Of course, I never knew that God wants us to be evenly yoked, meaning the man is the head, honoring God. And the family also with a mother and father are brought up truly knowing the word of God. We are taught from the beginning what place God has in our lives. It’s not in a superficial way. It is taking up your cross and following Him. It is letting Him lead your life, honoring and worshiping Him daily. It is studying His word and praying, deeply from your heart and soul. Only He has transformed you. You had no part in that. He is still sanctifying us according to his will, His perfect will. When you let Him have the lead in your life, you have a joy and happiness that last even through the trials that come.

I have a family in Lebanon. I tried very hard to gain back control of my life. I felt a failure to all who saw me. I could never live down the illness I have nor could I will it away. They could not help me to learn to deal with it all. I felt disgusting being ill. I remember my daughter saying how she felt about me. I think she was just plain ashamed of me. I know my husband and other family were. The doctor did not listen to how I was feeling. I was just another of his mental cases. So I came here to get better help medically and I did. The only thing was it was too late to repair what I had done. The damage was too bad and I was told nothing would change if I went back. So in brokenness, I do remember asking the Lord, “Please, Lord don’t let me have to make a decision to break up my family.” I still love my family very much. I know I will always and forever. I am working for My Lord now and living the rest of my time here doing His will daily.

His promise is, He will never give us more than we can handle. He promises He will always give us a way out of sin. He promises we will have an everlasting life with Him in heaven. He died for His chosen. The elect, the called unto sanctification, until glorification. (Romans 8:28-30) He taught His apostles and disciples, all they needed to know to go forth and preach the word to all nations. (Matthew 28:18-20) Some of the teachings were not understood by them until He was resurrected and taught them for forty more days. He promised He was going to prepare a place for us and that he would send a Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name. (John 14:22-30)

“God resists the proud,
But gives grace to the
humble.”

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.
Be sober be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks around like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Jesus Christ, after you suffer a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen. (1 Peter 5: 5-11)

But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. (1 Peter 3:8-9)

For what is your life? It is even as a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. (James 4:13-17)

 

2 thoughts on “Life, and the shortness of it.

  1. My heart goes out to you. I lost my then 19 year old son to suicide in 1999. I know how bi-polar hits and the ups and downs. My prayers are with you, that God protects you and keeps you strong. I can see you know the word of God. Don’t ever quit, for HE has something special for you.

Leave a Reply

