Be a witness!

I have as you have, many opportunities to witness to others about Jesus. One of our deacons recently said, ” Don’t let an opportunity go by”.  He said he remembers one time the person died in a car wreck the next day. I was in my session today discussing why my husband has now shunned me even more. It is now more because I am a born again Christian. He told me that he thinks I joined a cult started in the 60’s or 70’s. I can’t remember which. He says according to his calculations that the number of saved Christians would be very few. I said it is not according to my words but, the Lord’s. He said he will stick with his rituals and he likes them. That they have been around since the beginning. I have to say that is true. I know and all true believers know it is not about rituals. If you read any of the Bible, you would know that is what people were doing, all kinds of rituals, they thought made them holy, worshipping other gods, hand-made idols, (idolatry). They had our living Lord and God. He wanted them to have no other Gods before him. To obey him, give him glory and honor him and love one another as he loves us. As I read the Bible, his Word, I know it is true. It is written down for us. It’s written by men inspired by God. Scripture is God-breathed, inerrant. 2 Timothy 3:16. 

I was raised catholic, baptised, 1st communion, confirmed. I spent eight years in catechism. I believed the Bible then. I was never told to read it. Yet I knew about the creation, Adam and Eve, Noah and the Ark. I now know because of the Lord more than anything, the Word is true. There are no lies there. What was prophesied happened and will be completed. He is coming again for us, he says so. Unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of heaven. John 3:3  We are saved by grace through faith, not by faith alone. Ephesians 2:8-9  He grants us that grace. You can never earn it on your own. In my work for the Lord I am near to people dying. I ask them questions to see where they are in the their beliefs. I do witness and tell them when the moment comes. I have failed also at times. I tell them that the only way to salvation (heaven) is Jesus. I ask do you know you are going to heaven? I always get that answer “I think so, I think I have been a good enough person”. No one is good enough, not one. We all fall short as sinners. Romans 3:10-18  We must take every opportune moment we have. It could be the only chance or not. At least we know and God knows, we did go therefore. We have no idea who or when someone could understand.

And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always even  to the end of the age.” Amen Matthew 28:18-20

3 thoughts on “Be a witness!

  1. Interesting Cheryl, I was just thinking seriously of writing something that’s rattling around my brain about Jesus last commendment, Mt 28, and there it is in yours. I may, but not for abit. I need a break. Writing blogs are hard work but I’m like a kid with a new toy. At the sametime it’s fun too. 🙂

    • If you just write what the LORD gives you, you will be ok. Remember in the Gospels that Jesus said not to worry about what you will say, but the HOLY SPIRIT will give it to you and as long as it lines up with scripture, you’re hearing from the LORD. HE is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.

  2. Amen sis, hang on to your faith. It doesn’t matter what others may think, they will have to answer for themselves. We can only tell them, it’s the HOLY SPIRIT’S job to convict them of their need for a savior. Let your changed life be your witness.

Leave a Reply

