My first time out in a social experience since November when I got back to the U.S.

It was an okay experience, for being the first time. I will go back and see again if I like it more. I went to an activity center for people with mental disorders, like mine. They are also recovering. I met a few people who have gone through a lot. They were willing to share and I did somewhat also. You don’t want to spill your whole story. Except here, where no on knows who you are.

One guy is funny, he asks every new woman if she’s married. I said yes, I am. I always will be. Don’t need any more men messing me up, ever. My experience shows I only pick the bad ones. So no more. I liked the ladies much more. It’s a place to do things. You can get help working on your resume. It’s a place where everyone has work assignments. I helped write down the news for the day locally and the headlines, sports and temperature. It’s hard to find stories that are positive headlines though. We were also working on thoughts for the monthly news letter.

I’m not sure if it’s the place for me to be a peer. I don’t know yet. I can talk to people easily. I always have been able to do that. As long as they are not on the attack. I have realized I never want to feel abused that way again. I won’t ever stand for it. It’s one of my limits and I won’t let anyone cross it. I can just walk away and never see them again or just stay away and not interact with them. 

I think I will always be outspoken about bullying in schools. It’s just what lead me to the person I am. I know now, I wasn’t one of those kids that could let it roll off my back. That it is just a part of growing up. I just don’t feel that any person should put another down, so they can enjoy themselves and get attention. People need to put themselves in that person’s place and see how it feels. It is very hurtful to a person’s soul and self-esteem. Here I am in my 50’s and I remember it all. It’s because I had to deal with it all over again with my daughter. Then again with her and her best friend. Why can’t they just include this in some class like social skills. If you fail you have to take it over. I think if kids had to watch a bullying film over and over again and see the reaction of the victim, they would definitely get tired of it and stop. Let’s include the bystanders too. Step in and don’t let it go on. Life is hard enough growing up. Abuse is abuse and it goes on from there to low self-esteem, even mental disorders, post traumatic stress disorder or depression or suicide.

It starts at home. If parents would teach their kids to respect others, things would be different. Then you have the kids that are in one parent homes and the one’s being abused by their parents. The cycle goes round and round. Teasing, making jokes, outright insults, and fights happens to your mother, father, brothers, me, not my sister, then your kids. All through history probably. Evil teaches evil. One parent families have it very hard when there are many siblings and no help. I would tell a parent to have a child with problems, seek out the school counselor. Attend yourself if possible. That’s what they are there for. That’s who is counseling my daughter with half the facts. Sorry that doesn’t usually happen. Let’s face it this life is so full of big rocks, mountains and valleys and we have to cross them all. We have no choice until we are out of here…Thanks be to God.

3 thoughts on “My first time out in a social experience since November when I got back to the U.S.

  1. You hit the nail on the head with this post girlie! Exactly!!!!! It DOES start at home!!! Kids take with them what they are taught at home. You generally won’t find a bully in a nice home with loving parents who teach their children right and love them daily…. you just won’t find that. Good Post!

  2. What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.

    • Thank you so much. Your post was very wonderful. I really just use this as a journal of my daily thoughts to let go and grow. Life is so hard and being bipolar doesn’t make it any easier. Yet everyone has their burdens to bear and I give mine to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

